Site Directory
Wado Ryu Karate
The USEWF eGuide
Dojo Directory
Full Contact


Wado RyuThe Nine Primary Kata

Although many schools affiliated with both our own Federation, and the International Federation, actively practice many different kata within their programs, it is vitally important to remember that Ohtsuka Sensei stressed the importance of, and specifically defined only nine (9) of the originally sanctioned Butokukai kata (in addition to Ohtsuka Sensei's own Kihon Kumite Kata) as being formally recognized within the Wado Ryu style of karate. He regarded all others as 'secondary'. It is for that reason that our kata syllabus prioritizes those nine kata, and emphasizes the following order in which they should be taught:

To continue your exploration of the Kata of Wado Ryu, click on any of the links below.

Kihon Kumite Kata / Secondary Butokukai Kata / Wado Ryu Kata / China, Okinawa and Kushanku / Kata Home

Return To Wado Ryu Home

Home | Up | Site Directory | The USEWF eGuide | Dojo Directory | Biographies | Merchandise | Links | Full Contact



C o p y r i g h t   2 0 0 5 - 2 0 0 6   U n i t e d   S t a t e s   E a s t e r n   W a d o   R y u   K a r a t e   F e d e r a t i o n